OLD-COMPUTERS.COM Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Old computers > I'm looking for...
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Looking for a 286 386

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
peirce View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 April 2012
Location: Nurberg
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote peirce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Looking for a 286 386
    Posted: 23 April 2012 at 9:16am
Good evening ,
I am interested in buyng an old IBM PC compatible
a 286 or 386 , HD , floppy   disk reader ,
video and cables .
Only in Nurberg .

thank Michele.


have removed email address as invites much spam

Edited by Mike Newcomb - 24 April 2012 at 5:53am
Back to Top
Mike Newcomb View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 15 July 2006
Location: London UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 533
  Quote Mike Newcomb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 April 2012 at 5:56am
Hi Michele,

suggest you check out ebay/computing/vintage

Many bargains are placed there, so check every few days and sort by 'time newly listed'

Why not consider also a 486?

Please advise back on progress.

Good Luck - Mike


Edited by Mike Newcomb - 24 April 2012 at 5:56am
Back to Top
peirce View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 April 2012
Location: Nurberg
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote peirce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 April 2012 at 3:01pm
Hello , Mike.

I   would like to buy an old PC such as 286 or 386
because I wish   to   program   with   Quick Basic :
an 486 would not be compatible with those very old software.

Michele.
Back to Top
Qwaxalot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 January 2011
Location: Michigan
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 38
  Quote Qwaxalot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 April 2012 at 6:35pm
Hi Peirce.

The processor shouldn't be an issue, as long as the DOS version is older, ie DOS 3.11 or so.

Edited by Qwaxalot - 25 April 2012 at 5:27pm
It's hard to be a duck
Back to Top
barythrin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 July 2011
Location: Texas
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 173
  Quote barythrin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 April 2012 at 7:21pm
Actually Michele, QuickBasic specifically supports any dos system regardless of processor. I even used it and compiled 16-bit apps in Windows XP on a pentium 4. Well now I went and confused myself. I THOUGHT that Microsoft actually did allow the download of qbasic or quickbasic for free but I'm unsure now. I did find a reference to qbasic for free as part of the olddos tools http://support.microsoft.com/kb/135315 which you can get from Microsoft for free and legally.

Still AFAIK there weren't any hard requirements for an older system/processor other than charm.
Back to Top
peirce View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 April 2012
Location: Nurberg
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote peirce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 April 2012 at 11:34am
You   are right!
Infact I managed to downlad the QuickBasic 4,5 .
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.55
Powered by Web Wiz Forums Free Express Edition
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.420 seconds.