OLD-COMPUTERS.COM Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Old computers > I get rid of...
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

compaq portable 386

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
sid View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
  Quote sid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: compaq portable 386
    Posted: 18 February 2005 at 6:13am
just found  compaq portable 386 in the loft.is it worth anything?.
Back to Top
Walter View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
  Quote Walter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2005 at 12:51pm

I am looking for a 386.  If you are interested in selling, please email me at Walter@wbmco.com

Do you have the power cord for it?  Does it boot up?

Thanks, Walter

Back to Top
Nicodemus View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
  Quote Nicodemus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2005 at 10:52pm

Hi Walter.

I've got one of the old Compaq Arise 386 "portable" computers. It's since been upgraded to a 486, with 16MB RAM and a 500MB hard drive... I'm thinking of putting it up for auction on eBay -- not that I'll get much for it. If you're interested I can post some pictures of it... or even put it on eBay for you to buy through there and take advantage of their buyer protection services.

Anyway, if you're still interested post a reply.

Jake

Back to Top
Brendan View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
  Quote Brendan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 March 2005 at 8:15am

By a strange coincidence, I was just looking for one of these.  I have the expansion box and was going to set up an EPROM burner.  All modern machines can't handle the direct I/O.

Feel like letting it go?

 

Thanks.

Brendan

bkeith@sympatico.ca

 

Back to Top
dravanchad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 March 2005
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote dravanchad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2005 at 5:15am
I just recintly bought a Portable III
Shut up computers are cool now
Back to Top
jer View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
  Quote jer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 April 2005 at 9:11am
ive got a compaq slt 286 if you;re interested?

jerry@fmxtech.com
Back to Top
vetteone View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 October 2005
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote vetteone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 October 2005 at 9:26pm
I have a Compaq 386 Portable and am having trouble booting it up. The following message comes on the screen when I turn the computer on.
"162 Systems options not set (run setup)
Insert Diagnostic Diskette in drive A
163 time and date not set
Resume F1 Key
There is information on the hard drive because I have used this computer for business.
Does anyone know how I can get this 386 to boot up.
I don't have a Diagnostic diskette

I need your help
thank you in advance for any help
Richard courtney
Richard Courtney
Back to Top
Frogblender View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 October 2005
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
  Quote Frogblender Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 October 2005 at 3:12pm
I'd love to get a hold of this unit. Is it still available?
CPPC - Computer Preservation Project of Canada
Donations appreciated!
Back to Top
jeff3015usa View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 October 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote jeff3015usa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 October 2007 at 12:44am
>>> look here
my friend here is what you do from jeff3015usa@yahoo.com
goto support.hp.com
thhia is hewlett packard they bought out compaq
they have a file you down load and then open and install on floppy then boot up with it in 1.44 drive press f1 and follow the instruction
file name is softpaq ver mine 2.01 but does not work all of it 1994,1996 is the date on the dignostics
hope this helps working on slt286 now for a church friend it is doing that


Originally posted by vetteone

I have a Compaq 386 Portable and am having trouble booting it up. The following message comes on the screen when I turn the computer on.
"162 Systems options not set (run setup)
Insert Diagnostic Diskette in drive A
163 time and date not set
Resume F1 Key
There is information on the hard drive because I have used this computer for business.
Does anyone know how I can get this 386 to boot up.
I don't have a Diagnostic diskette

I need your help
thank you in advance for any help
Richard courtney
Back to Top
TriGod_Acts29 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 November 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote TriGod_Acts29 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 November 2007 at 5:17pm
I have a copaq plus portable that is complete with printer that still works. I looked it up on old computers .com and found out that there were only 300 of these shiped I have all the numbers off of it and am looking to sell it I just really do not know what it is worth so if any one is interested email me at cns4ever61805@yahoo.com
Carolyn
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.55
Powered by Web Wiz Forums Free Express Edition
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.551 seconds.