Forum Home Forum Home > Old computers > Mainframes & dinosaurs
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

NCR 315 Mainframe

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Raynokla View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Raynokla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: NCR 315 Mainframe
    Posted: 01 April 2005 at 12:02pm
I am a retired NCR Computer tech.
The first system I was trained on was the NCR 315 (this was in the 60s)
I am looking for PHOTOS of the old relic.  Anyone know where I might locate them?
Retired NCR Computer Field Eng.
dhulse View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
  Quote dhulse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2005 at 4:54pm

I just stumbled on your post while browsing Google. There are a copule of images I found in Google if you search for ncr 315, but very limited.

The NCR 315 was also the first computer I worked on. Got trained in Dayton, at the factory, in 1967 - 1968. A full year in school by the time I was trained on the 315 and peripherals, along with 402 check sorter, C6000 cash register (!!) and Class 41 & 42 teller's machines. I stayed with NCR until 1977 and got trained on Century 100 & 200 systems. So many head crashes; used to drive me crazy! I worked in Chicago during that time.

Raynokla View Drop Down

Quote Raynokla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2005 at 5:18pm
I started with NCR in 1964, was trained on the 315 and 404 in 65 &66

Trained on the Century in 1969.  After that, I went to so many Schools I can't remember them all.  Spent half my time in school.

I retired in march of 2000 after the Y2K worry was over.

I'll give Google a try

taipan89 View Drop Down

Quote taipan89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2005 at 3:13pm